Advisory Board

About the Board

Qntfy is serious about protecting the data donated and ensuring it is only used for good. We have assembled a Board of Advisors consisting of advocates, clinicians, and other experts to help us.

We have representatives from the American Association of Suicidology, The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline, Transgender Research, The National Association of Crisis Organization Directors, Combat Veterans from the United States Military, Nationally Recognized Advocates for Survivors of Suicide Loss as well as Prominent Advocates for substance abuse recovery.

These experts act as representatives of people who are trusting us with their data and whose emotional pain we are trying to better understand. The panel decides rapidly if a project is in line with the values of their communities so that research can move forward as quickly and responsibly as possible.

Meet Our Advisors

Dr. Craig J. Bryan, Psy.D.

Dr. Craig J. Bryan, Psy.D., ABPP is a board-certified clinical psychologist in cognitive behavioral psychology, and is currently the Executive Director of the National Center for Veterans Studies at The University of Utah. Dr. Bryan received his Psy.D. in clinical psychology in 2006 from Baylor University, and completed his clinical psychology residency at the Wilford Hall Medical Center, Lackland Air Force Base, TX.

April C. Foreman, Ph.D.

April C. Foreman, Ph.D., is a Licensed Psychologist serving Veterans as Suicide Prevention Coordinator for Southeast Louisiana Veterans Health Care System. She also serves as Suicide Prevention Lead for Veterans Integrated Service Network 16, a region of Veterans Affairs. She is passionate about helping people with severe (sometimes lethal) emotional pain. She is known for her work at the intersection of technology, social media, and mental health, with nationally recognized implementations of innovations in the use of technology and mood tracking.

Chris Maxwell, B.A.

Chris Maxwell serves as the Coordinator of Member Engagement for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. Chris facilitates the sharing of crisis center knowledge and wisdom between centers in the Lifeline network. In his current position, he is also responsible for disseminating important information regarding Lifeline standards, training, and protocols to the network crisis centers.

Julie Cerel, Ph.D.

Dr. Cerel is a licensed clinical psychologist and Associate Professor in the College of Social Work at the University of Kentucky. Her research has focused on suicide bereavement, suicide attempt survivors and suicide prevention. She completed her PhD from the Ohio State University, an internship and post-doctoral fellowship from West Virginia University and a post-doctoral fellowship specifically in suicide prevention from University of Rochester.

Bart Andrews, Ph.D.

Bart Andrews, Ph.D. is Vice President of Clinical Practice/Evaluation at Behavioral Health Response. Dr. Andrews is the President of the National Association of Crisis Line Directors, Co-Chair of the Suicide Lifeline’s Standards, Training and Practices committee, a member of the Suicide Prevention Resource Center’s (SPRC) Steering Committee and an SPRC ZeroSuicide Academy Faculty member. Dr. Andrews is a suicide attempt survivor and a proponent of embracing of lived expertise in our suicide prevention efforts.

Rylan Jay Testa, Ph.D.

Dr. Rylan Jay Testa is an Assistant Professor in the Psychology Department of Rhodes College and the Director of the Health Behavior and Disparities Lab. Dr. Testa is a clinical psychologist whose research focuses on understanding and preventing self-destructive health-related behaviors, such as suicide, eating disorders, sexual risk-taking, and substance abuse.

William Schmitz Jr., Psy.D.

Dr. William Schmitz Jr. is a licensed psychologist for the Southeast Louisiana Veterans Health Care System. Working at the forefront of suicide prevention and social media, Dr. Schmitz has consistently promoted evidence based training of clinicians and the use of technology to advance suicide prevention, intervention, and postvention.

Janet Schnell, MSW, LSW

Janet Schnell, MSW, LSW is the American Association of Suicidology Loss Division Chair, Southern Hills Counseling Center Staff Therapist, Vincennes University Adjunct Trainer, and Dubois County Substance Abuse Council Coordinator. She is an active member of Indiana, Southwest Indiana, and Dubois County Suicide Prevention Coalition, Quilt organizer for American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, and President of Survivors of Suicide of Dubois County.

Kristy Hollingshead, Ph.D.

Dr. Kristy Hollingshead is a Research Scientist at the Florida Institute for Human & Machine Cognition (IHMC), working on natural language processing, and focused on the analysis of everyday language — what we say and how we say it — as a signal of mental and neurological health. She received her Ph.D. and M.S. in Computer Science from Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU), and her B.A. in English-Creative Writing from the University of Colorado at Boulder. She was an NSF Graduate Research Fellow from 2004-2007.

MSgt. Tomas K. Cruz

Tomas K. Cruz is an Active Duty Master Sergeant in the Unites States Army with over 21 years of service. He has deployed in support of Operation Joint Guardian, and Operation Iraqi Freedom. MSgt. Cruz has lived experience with suicide prevention and awareness as he attempted in 2010 to take his life. Since his attempt MSG Cruz has become a huge advocate of more awareness and prevention for Veterans.